Sign-in with Facebook

You need to login to submit an event!

Sign-in with Facebook

David Dallas Releases ‘Hood Country Club’

15 mins ago by
written by

NZ’s Hip Hop innovator, David Dallas, released his new record Hood Country Club in April. This is ahead of his tour of Australia supporting Horrorshow throughout June and July. On the well-crafted album, Dallas confronts everything from the political to the very personal.

“I put it all into this one. I don’t really feel like being build ups – I’ll just say this record took time because it needed to, I’m proud of it, and I’ll be happy when everyone gets to hear it.” – David Dallas.

The rapper’s assertive outlook is described by the NZ Herald as “No word is spared, no line is wasted, any everything lands on or near its intended target”. Dallas himself sees it as his best lyrical effort, with the final result both polished and poignant.

Combining this with the production duties from the likes of Nic M, Styalz Fuego and longtime collaborator Fire & Ice, then pulling from sonic influences as broad as UK 2-step and Trip Hop to straight up samples over thumping drums, and Hood Country Club positions itself to be a top listen.

Recorded at Red Bull Studios in Auckland, the new release follows the critically acclaimed and award-winning album Falling Into Place. Lead single Runnin’ garnered platinum status in New Zealand and has been viewed a whopping 3.6 million times on YouTube.

Horrorshow’s Bardo State Tour Dates:

Fri 2nd June – Settlers Tavern, Margaret River
Sat 3rd June – Prince of Wales, Bunbury
Sun 4th June – The Astor, Perth
Fri 9th June – Chelsea Heights Hotel, Chelsea Heights
Sat 10th June – Barwon Club, Geelong
Sun 11th June – 170 Russell, Melbourne
Fri 16th June – ANU Bar, Canberra
Sat 17th June – Enmore Theatre, Sydney
Thur 22nd June – Magnums, Airlie Beach
Fri 23rd June – Dalrymple Hotel, Townsville
Sat 24th June – The Jack, Cairns
Thur 29th June – Miami Marketta, Gold Coast
Fri 30th June – Great Northern, Byron Bay
Sat 1st July – Max Watts, Brisbane
Fri 7th July – Wollongong Uni, Wollongong
Sat 8th July – Bar On The Hill, Newcastle
Fri 14th July – Republic Bar, Hobart
Sat 15th July – The Governor Hindmarsh, Adelaide

Name (required)

Email (required)

Message

Enter the code below captcha

×